Saturday, November 27, 2010

Lockett Shortlisted for 2011 Mark Twain Prize

Lockett shortlisted for the 2011 Mark Twain Prize (AP)

Writer, humorist and former stand-up comic James Patrick Lockett is among the names shortlisted for Kennedy Center's 2011 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. America's foremost award for humor has been presented annually - beginning in 1998 with Richard Pryor - to the individual who has made a significant contribution to American humor. The John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts, however, has recently redefined the meaning of "significant contribution" by bestowing the award this year to SNL Alum Tina Fey, and in essence, widening the scope of potential nominees.

"It's an honor simply to be considered," said Lockett. "In the Nineties, it was predicted that one out of every three people would get their own talk show, now I guess it's the Mark Twain Prize, that is if you have a killer Sarah Palin impersonation." In addition to Lockett, the shortlist includes comedian Carrot Top, Vince the Slap-Chop guy, Michael Jackon's youngest son Blanket, who's subtle wit and grace is reminiscent of a young Charles Chaplin, and a plumber from Cleveland who told a really funny joke at a cocktail party that one time.

Past recipients are the afore mentioned Pryor, Jonathan Winters, Carl Reiner, Whoopi Goldberg, Bob Newhart, Lily Tomlin, Lorne Michaels, Steve Martin, Neil Simon, Billy Crystal, George Carlin, Bill Cosby, and Fey - want to play one of these things is not like the other? Really? Lorne Michaels received the Mark Twain Prize before Steve Martin, Carlin and Cosby, that explains alot.